Home » Cooking » Cupcakes » Cupcake Challenge #2

Cupcake Challenge #2

This week’s Challenge was for “Red Velvet” cupcakes. I was going to substitute the food colour for beetroot juice or something natural (I was contemplating using my newly acquired dehydrator to make some powdered beetroot and raspberry red colouring)… but then I couldn’t be bothered, and wanted to make the cupcakes for a tuppercino 😉 so here they are.

I ended up using Donna’s leftover passionfruit frosting, because I’d left my icing sugar at home… but the passionfruit frosting was delicious (even if it was a bit sloopy because we watered it down a bit too much). I figured the cherries went well with the red cakes 🙂

dscf7857

dscf7863

dscf7856

Red Velvet cupcakes
INGREDIENTS
¾ cup butter, softened
1½ cups castor sugar
¼ cup cocoa powder
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 cup buttermilk
2 Tbsp liquid red food color
2 tsp white vinegar
2 1/2 cups cake plain flour

Icing (optional)
2 bricks philly cream cheese, softened
½ cup butter, softened
1½ cups castor sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract

One thought on “Cupcake Challenge #2

Leave a Reply

