Home » Cooking » Aprons

Aprons

I’ve become a fan……  First off it started because I got sick of being covered in threads and fluff from sewing, so I got an apron for that….. then, after splashing spag sauce down my front when stirring my saucepan a little too vigorously, I decided that I’d pop on my (Mr Men!) apron….. and then next time I baked and got flour down my front, I pulled out the apron again….

Converted to the ways of the apron, I bought a nifty black and white funky floral number (The Royal Children’s hospital Auxilary ones)….  and I use that a lot.  But they aren’t made for the more busty woman, and I need something wider up top… so I’m going to make one…

I could cry – I saw this fabric (and a red version) http://apronista.blogspot.com/2008/02/apron-fabric.html at spotlight last year and loved it (I even bought a pad someone made from it), but didn’t buy it.  Now I want an apron in it!!!!!  *sob*

So this post is mostly for me to collect links to ones I like, so I can steal ideas 🙂

  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/22914189@N06/3180715366/ -Ohh a corset apron?!?  Though I suppose the lacing would need to be at the back or it would get messy, and that  would make it hard to put on.  Might need a zip….  methinks that design wasn’t intended for cooking 😉
  • http://www.flickr.com/photos/movinghands/479604893/ –  ok this is for a child…. but… if you could make an adult size (and longer) then it’s going to be a nifty design that needs no tying up!  (of interest to me, since I often remember to put the apron on when I’m up to my elbows in flour, and I have bum-length hair which always gets caught in the ties)

Some ideas thus far…

For the sort of pleated bust look… I’ve seen someone do it like a pillowcase dress, so you’d get a rectangle of fabric like 1.5-2 times your desired fihished bust width, make a casing at the top… thread ribbon (or elastic) through to gather it…. which would allow the top to be more gathered than the bottom where it joins the “skirt” bit….

Leave a Reply

