Home » Stuff » Minecraftyness – Part 4

Minecraftyness – Part 4

(See part 1 here, part 2 here and part 3 here)

This is stuff I made on our “survival” server… one with monsters that like to kill you and blow your stuff up. Makes things a bit more challenging.

My first place – to avoid the mobs I figured I’d build underwater (they don’t spawn on water) and surrounded by cactus (which kills them if they stand there touching it – as they do).

Photobucket

It’s multiplayer, so that sign and road  isn’t part of my building.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Lounge
Photobucket

Kitchen
Photobucket

Underwater wheat farm
Photobucket

Underground tree farm and animal spawning area
Photobucket

Then my latest project (and my pride and joy)… my Aqueduct complex (for lack of a proper name for it). I’d found a large natural crevasse, so I built a tall tower with 3×3 platform above it and a ladder extending down into a cave/mine where I was searching for lapis… and would hide up on the platform with all my stuff when I wasn’t mining or off exploring. Then I realised the shadow of my platform was keeping the mobs alive in daytime, and making me unable to get down from my secure tower, so I had to build the platform from glass.

Photobucket

Then I got a sick of there still being creepers circling the tower trapping me up there (occasionally they would even start climbing the ladder!), so I decided I needed to build a safehouse around the tower – with doors on each side so I could lure the mobs to one door, and escape out the other…..

Then I decided it was best to seal up the crevasse, because I was sick of falling into it as I was running away from mobs…. and that I needed to clear some of the surrounding forest so I would stop being ambushed by creepers and being chased into the aforementioned crevasse… and perhaps a nice safe impenetrable wall…

So it ended up becoming this:
Photobucket

It’s a bit hard to photograph because it’s about as long as the field of view is, so when you’re far enough away to take a shot, the back half disappears out of view.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The wooden fence posts around the wall, stop spiders climbing up… so you’re all safe walking around even when the grass sections are dark and full of scary mobs.  The water channels on each side of the path also mean even if a creeper is at the outer wall, you’re far enough away that it won’t trigger it blowing up

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The flower
I admit, I did graciously accept donations of red flowers and lapis ore to make the wool purple, I couldn’t have done it without them, as I’d not found anywhere near enough. Thankfully my love of purple is legendary and some people on the server were saving the stuff up for me – Aww 😀
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

When I started building it, I made the wall height based on the fact there was a big hill on one side, and the wall was level with the top of that. I added the walkways leading from the top of the hill to the central tower. Then I had creepers blowing up under/next to the walkway on the hill side, so I flattened it out a bit so they were further away. Then I thought I should make the walkways have the same latticework that my Mountain complex had…. So I then had to flatten the entire hilly land area inside the walls to the same level so I could do that. Which meant removing some significantly high hills on one side, and building up the ground level on the other side (making sure there were no 2 block high spaces for mobs to spawn in and groan annoyingly to disturb my peace.

In hindsight, I probably could have got away with doing the lower pathways and leaving the ground as it was… but I like things to look even and symmetrical. Unfortunately I don’t have many in progress shots, because it didn’t occur to me until I’d gone a long way in.

This land needed to be built up. I had to go out seeking dirt! I ended up having to level off some land around the complex, just to gather the dirt. I used SOOOOOO much dirt! But I was determined not to take anyone else’s pity dirt, and gather it all myself.
Photobucket

The lower pathways have an underground tunnel under them, so on the low side, that was actually exposed, so I had to build them in with the stone I took out from making the ones on the high side 🙂
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Building the underground passageways. A lot of digging and then patching up to make it all lovely smooth stone
Photobucket

Photobucket

I found a mob spawner…. and amazingly it’s dead centre to my passageway! The passageway is 3 blocks wide, and the spawn cage is in line with the centre… how perfectly aligned is that! I did contemplate covering it in glass and letting the mobs spawn in it, but their noise would have spoiled the serenity, and would have spoiled the look of my passageway. So I covered it up
Photobucket

Inside
A world-hole conveniently shows a cross-section 😀
Photobucket

Inside the box building part that was the first construction (was made of cobble originally, but I beautified it later)
Photobucket

Lower level – Started off as just a passageway leading off in each direction, but then I decided I wanted to connect them, so that the passageways ran around the walls of the complex as well.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Next level down again was the practical parts – my store room, indoor wheat garden, bedroom and the entrance to my mine.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

