Home » Stuff » Pink lemonaid

Pink lemonaid

So… I was making a batch of my purple carrot cakes (that went blue), and a batch of homemade lemonaid to take over to a friend’s house….. and when I was grating the purple carrot for the cake, I was left with an end, and I thought I’d have a go popping that in some water and boiling it for a while, to make purple water…then using that water in the lemonaid mix… which I figured would go pink due to the acid in the lemonjuice (see here)…. and yes it worked!

Awesomeness!  (and no, it didn ‘t taste of carrot at all)

So we had blue cake and pink lemonaid thanks to purple carrots…..
all-natural funky Noms and a science lesson, all rolled into one!

In case you don’t know how to make lemonaid….
Pour 1 cup water and 1/2 cup sugar into a saucepan, and heat until the sugar dissolves.  Then pour this into a large jug with 1 cup of lemon juice and 5 cups water.  Then keep it in the fridge.

Leave a Reply

